The Beauty of Fake

Victor B. – Portfolio #2 – Still Life #24

In this photograph, I have taken a picture of a light teddy bear with a red cardigan with the union jack on and a small basket of artificial purple flowers in front of it. This picture has been taken in the studio set up by our teacher on November 26th, 2020. To create this setting, I have turned down the left light significantly while turning up the warm setting on the right light about half way. I have also used a light pink filter on the light to give the photo more colors in the background, not just plain white. It was also my idea to use the bottom of the white background cover as a platform instead of a grey foam mat provided and to create a sense of silky waves by crippling the cover. I have chose to use the flower basket and the teddy bear as my subjects as they recreated the feeling of home and sweetness in me as the teddy bear is very soft and sweet and the flowers are beautiful and (traditionally) fragrant. In photoshop, I have also used a few filters and tools to bring up the colors even more.

1/40 sec. f/4.2 31mm ISO: 800

One thought on “The Beauty of Fake

  1. I really like the composition of your photo and everything you used to compose it. These include the use of warm colours for lighting, the red cardigan on the teddy bear, and the flowers. Along with the fluffy hair on the bear, all of these aspects work together to enhance your picture. The folded white sheet that you took the picture on also ads this feeling of comfort to the photo and makes the photo look like it can be used for advertisiement purposes for kids toy brands. One thing i think would make this photo better is to use less intense warm light. Sometimes it gives the expression of danger if I look at the picture too long. I’m not sure maybe I’m overthinking it. But great photo.

Leave a Reply