Flying Away

I composed this photo outside in the field on a cold winter morning. In order to take this particular image, I turned my camera to shutter mode and turned my shutter speed up to around 1/500. My f-stop in this image was around 8-10 and my ISO was relatively low considering that it was a bright and very sunny morning. The wire in the fence adds an element of the line to this image and leads the viewers around the image and directs them towards the subject. I choose to take this image as a freeze action shot because a viewer can tell that the bird was moving and its motion appears to be frozen. The background colours contrast my subject. My biggest challenge was to capture the bird with no blur, this was very difficult considering how fast the birds were moving. However, I couldn’t get the exact statistics for this image.

Leave a Reply